Ayrshire is an old and historical county and has traditionally comprised of three areas, Carrick to the South, Kyle in the centre and Cunningham to the North. The Coats of Arms of these ancient provinces are incorporated in the seal of the Provincial Grand Lodge of Ayrshire. There are 44 Daughter Lodges in the Province situated from Girvan in the South to Skelmorlie in the North, from Ayr in the West to Muirkirk in the East, each Lodge being unique and distinct from the others.

Since its formation in 1739, the Provincial Grand Lodge of Ayrshire has been active in the promotion of the ideal that “Freemasonry makes a good man a better man”.